.

.

I’m wild about Maira Kalman. She’s an artist, author and visual storyteller.  And avid walker. She says that walking feeds her creativity and opens her mind to a higher level of awareness. I get it.

See how she thinks and feels ~ by talking a walk. Don’t miss this ~

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ze_Pz5fTdrY

 

 

Kalman lives in Manhattan. A place as big as life and twice as real. Walking there is inebriating, intoxicating and invigorating.

.

.

I’ve walked in lots of places ~ wiltingly-gorgeous and mouth-gapingly awesome places.  But my favorite walks are simple and slow.  Nirvanic.  An oxygenation for body and mind. Especially ones with lots of green and blue.

.

.

I can’t imagine that Kalman is ever bored, not even for one second.  Or Kate Heburn, for that matter.  She walked everywhere from her home in Fenwick.

.

.

The creek marsh near here is an isolated undisturbed expanse that is a nesting and feeding habitat for tons of bird species. It’s got the requisite short grasses and tall stands of reeds. Here’s what I see ~

.

Osprey

Clapper Rail

.

..Saltmarsh Sharp-tailed Sparrow

.

.

File:Blackduck.jpg

American Black Duck

..

I could cut all this out of a newspaper, write notes on a post-it, or tape it into my notebook.  But I’d rather put it here, along with Maira Kalman ~ such a find must be shared.

Wallow in whimsy and wanderlust.  You won’t be bored for a nanosecond.

All about Maira Kalman ~  http://www.mairakalman.com

Toni 8/6/12

8 thoughts on ““It’s very important not to be bored…for too long. More than a minute.”

  1. I can’t tell you how much this post means to me. Recently I started walking and found a whole new world just outside my door. I wrote about it here https://silkpurseproductions.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/its-time-to-move-again/
    Since that post it has taken on a whole new perspective and I am having a great time with it. It has helped in so many ways. Thank you for writing this post and giving me encouragement and confirmation in my walking.

    Like

  2. Tell me about walkers who have those ear buttons inserted so that they can’t be one with nature,etc., nevermind that they don’t hear me coming up behind them, and they startle and fall into the thickets, snarling their wires in the briars, and by the end of it all we’re friends and the ear buttons are ditched, hopefully forever. (Plus I had to rip them apart to get the thorns out.) Hurrah for Maira!
    Patty

    Like

  3. I love the idea of an occasional seaside afternoon dance. So spontaneous, so impromptu, so extemporaneous. Would partners be required? White gloves? I can see the “good shoes” with that green skirt.

    Like

    1. Good shoes. Takes me back to those special pairs I had when I was a kid, the patent leathers that ticked and clicked on the marble floor when I walked down the aisle in church. And anklets trimmed in lace. At the seaside dance, partner is optional but surely a plus. And pearls, of course. Toni

      Like

Leave a reply.

