Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

 

/////////////////

Our 2010 is not about The Desperate Housescribes.  It’s about All of You.  You keep us energized, inspired and motivated to write.  We thank you.  Fiercely.  Vastly. Utterly.


We also take our nourishment from a passel of poets ~ Ted Kooser, Mary Oliver, Wendell Berry, Naomi Shihab Nye, William Carlos Williams, Maxine Kumin, Stanley Kunitz, Nikki Giovani, Donald Hall, Lucille Clifton, e e cummings, Maya Angelou, Billy Collins, Gwendolyn Brooks…. just to name a few.

/////////////////////////

///////////////

W.S. Merwin, the 17th Poet Laureate 2010-2011, is one of them.  Yes, he’s wise. But he’s on my Fave list because he’s tossed out punctuation. He says it ‘staples the poem to the page’. He wants the hearing of the poem to be like spoken language. Here’s a recent punctuation-free poem from his Pulitzer Prize-winning book,  The Shadow of Sirius. Read it aloud.

///////////////////

 

/////////////////

A Momentary Creed

I believe in the ordinary day
that is here at this moment and is me

I do not see it going its own way
but I never saw how it came to me

it extends beyond whatever I may
think I know and all that is real to me

it is the present that it bears away
where has it gone when it has gone from me

there is no place I know outside today
except for the unknown all around me

the only presence that appears to stay
everything that I call mine it lent me

even the way that I believe the day
for as long as it is here and is me

///////
/////////
///////////
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//////////////
///////
/////////////
May 2011 bring you the gift of ordinary days.

Toni 12/31/10

.
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
 

 For the curious, here's a list of the 24 poets and 1 astronaut (?) portrayed in the linocut:
First row  Alfred, Lord Tennyson - Robert Browning - Walt Whitman - William Butler Yeats
 - Gertrude Stein
Second row  Robert Frost - Carl Sandburg - Wallace Stevens
 - J.D. - T. S. Eliot
 Third row Edna St. Vincent Millay - Neil Armstrong - e e cummings -
Langston Hughes - W. H. Auden
 Fourth row Randall Jarrell - John Berryman - Dylan Thomas -
 Gwendolyn Brooks - Philip Larkin
 Fifth row Gregory Corso - Allen Ginsberg - Anne Sexton
- Sylvia Plath - Frank O'Hara
